Carnegie Mellon University

Data Storage Systems Center

College of Engineering

2021 DSSC Spring Review

Thursday, May 20, 2021: 12-2PM EDT & 8-10PM EDT 
All sessions will be held via Zoom

DSSC Review Structure

In response to our continuing need for social distancing, we will be holding the DSSC Spring Review as a 2-hour Zoom session on May 20, 2021 that will include an overview talk and a few highlight talks from key faculty and students. We have scheduled this session for two different times on the same day to best accommodate our sponsors’ varied time zones. Both sessions will provide the same content. The sessions are as follows:

Thursday, 5/20/21: 12-2PM EDT (9-11AM PDT)
Thursday, 5/20/21: 8-10PM EDT (Friday 5/21/21 10AM-12PM JST)

Following the 2-hour session, we will schedule individual reviews tailored to each sponsor. Sponsors may choose from a menu of student talks that will be provided after the overview session.

Agenda

Thursday, May 20 
All sessions will be held via Zoom 

12:00-12:30PM EDT
9:00-9:30AM PDT

8:00-8:30PM EDT
10:00-10:30AM JST

DSSC Overview
Jimmy Zhu
12:30-1:00PM EDT
9:30-10:00AM PDT

8:30-9:00PM EDT
10:30-11:00AM JST
Enabling TDMR Gain with Convolution Neural Network Based Machine Learning Algorithm
Yuwei Qin
1:00-1:15PM EDT
10:00-10:15AM PDT

9:00-9:15PM EDT
11:00-11:15AM JST

Simulation and fabrication of HAMR light delivery system
Wenyi Zhang

1:15-1:30PM EDT
10:15-10:30AM PDT

9:15-9:30PM EDT
11:15-11:30AM JST

NV Center Quantum Storage
Enbo Zhang