Skip main navigation

Data Storage Systems Center



DSSC Students, Faculty Head to DC for Joint Conference

Center to Host Alumni and Friends Reception Jan. 19

January 14, 2010

Nearly half of the students from the DSSC will travel to the nation's capital next week to participate in the 11th Joint MMM/Intermag Conference. Sponsored by the American Institute of Physics and the Magnetics Society of IEEE, in cooperation with the American Physical Society, the joint conference brings together members of the international scientific communities interested in recent developments in fundamental and applied magnetism. This year's meeting will take place Jan. 18–22 at the Marriott Washington Wardman Park in Washington, D.C.

The weeklong conference will feature invited and contributed papers, oral and poster presentations, and invited symposia on topics ranging from giant magnetoresistance and nanoparticles to energy assisted magnetic recording and channel and signal processing. The conference also provides an outstanding opportunity for participants to meet colleagues and discuss new, advanced and controversial developments in all aspects of magnetics research.

DSSC students scheduled to deliver oral presentations during the conference include electrical and computer engineering (ECE) graduate students Eui Seok Hwang, Seungjune Jeon, Chang Soo Kim and Yiming Wang; materials science and engineering graduate students Dhishan Kande, Kate McNerny, Kelsey Miller, Soyoung Park, Vincent Sokalski and En Yang; and physics graduate students Eric Evarts and Chip Hogg.

Evarts has also been selected as a finalist for the conference's Best Student Presentation Award for his work on "Spin Transfer Torque Switching of Magnetic Tunnel Junctions Using a Conductive Atomic Force Microscope." This award is available to any full-time graduate student who is expected to graduate within one year of the conference, and consists of a one-year fellowship of $1,000. The winner will be announced shortly after the conference concludes.

In addition to the 12 students delivering talks at the conference, four other DSSC graduate students will present posters at the event, including chemical engineering student Pil Seung Chung; ECE student Yibin Ng; and materials science and engineering students Nicholas Jones and Bincheng Wang.

ECE Professor and DSSC Associate Director Jim Bain and ECE Assistant Professor David Ricketts will also participate in the conference, with Bain delivering a talk and Ricketts presenting a poster. Other faculty members attending the conference include Materials Science and Engineering Professor Katayun Barmak, ECE Professor Vijayakumar Bhagavatula, Physics Professor Sara Majetich, Materials Science and Engineering Professor Mike McHenry, and ABB Professor of ECE and DSSC Director Jimmy Zhu. Majetich and McHenry both participated in the conference's organization, and McHenry served as publication co-chair for the event. McHenry will also chair a meeting on Small Magnetic Sensors and Sensor Materials from 1 to 5:30 p.m. on Monday, Jan 18.

The DSSC will sponsor a reception for the center's alumni and friends from 6 to 8 p.m. on Tuesday, Jan. 19, in the Wilson room of the Washington Marriott Wardman Park. In addition to providing and opportunity for current students and faculty to mingle with alumni and DSSC sponsors, the reception will also feature a short technical presentation on the progress of the center's HDD Future Technologies Working Group — a collaboration with industry to develop a technology roadmap for the data storage industry's next five years. No RSVP is necessary for the event, and drinks and appetizers will be provided.

For more on the 11th Joint MMM/Intermag Conference, visit

Data Storage Systems Center / Pittsburgh, PA 15213-3890 / Phone: 412-268-6600 / Fax: 412-268-3497